top of page
Marine Julié
Marine Julié
Marine Julié

Marine Julié - Nature likes to hide

from October 15 to November 22, 2015 - Vitrine 7 place du Parlement, Bordeaux

Marine Julié's work “ revolves around different recurring notions such as those of the wild state and questions inherent in the history of origin. It also addresses the issue of borders and the links that exist between the animal, plant and human world, the visible and the invisible ”*.

For the showcase, the artist extracts the ornamental figure of the dolphin, strongly anchored in the popular imagination, omnipresent in all branches of the decorative arts. The extravagant decor is stripped of any utilitarian support. Isolated, oversized and duplicated, the ornament disappears in favor of the statuary.
Dolphins in ornamentation often go in pairs, their bodies waving intertwined, facing or leaning against each other. Here, duplication, frontality and a certain rigidity refer to a posture of intimidation, the work becoming warlike, an attribute of power, in turn vestige of a throne or a tank of attack.

Mixed with strangeness, the grotesque character is accentuated. Hydrocephalic creatures possess a sharp, straight smile. Equipped with scales, they take on a monstrous aspect, close to Leviathan. The volutes of the foliage, symmetrical, swelling and vertical, suggest a second mouth. These "doublivorous" chimeras seem then linked to the worship of devouring, summoning terrible Aztec goddesses and other pagan deities.

Beyond the references to ornament and the history of Western art, these polymorphic figures question the border between decorum and work of art, disturb and arouse the imagination. But perhaps they are there, like the masks affixed to the windows and doors of Parliament Square, only to ward off evil spirits so that they do not enter the house.

* Didier Arnaudet

bottom of page

Zébra3

10 quai de Brazza

(Fabrique Pola)

33 100 Bordeaux - France

zebra3@buy-sellf.com

Tel +33 (0) 9 52 18 88 29

  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • YouTube - Black Circle

Marine Julié - La nature aime à se cacher

 

du 15 octobre au 22 novembre 2015 - Vitrine 7 place du Parlement, Bordeaux

Le travail de Marine Julié « s’articule autour de différentes notions récurrentes comme celles de l’état sauvage et les questions inhérentes à l’histoire de l’origine. Il aborde également la question des frontières et des liens qui existent entre le monde animal, végétal et humain, le visible et l’invisible » *.  

Pour la vitrine l’artiste extrait la figure ornementale du dauphin, fortement ancré dans l’imaginaire populaire, omniprésente dans toutes les branches des arts décoratifs. Le décor extravagant est débarrassé de tout support utilitaire. Isolé, surdimensionné et dupliqué, l’ornement disparaît au profit de la statuaire.
Les dauphins dans l’ornementation vont souvent par paire, leurs corps ondoient entrelacés, affrontés ou adossés. Ici, duplication, frontalité et une certaine rigidité renvoient à une posture d’intimidation,  l’œuvre se faisant guerrière, attribut de pouvoir, tour à tour vestige de trône ou char d’attaque.

Mâtiné d’étrangeté, le caractère grotesque est accentué. Les créatures hydrocéphales possèdent un sourire rectiligne acéré. Pourvues d’écailles, elle revêtent un aspect monstrueux, proche du Léviathan. Les volutes du feuillage, symétriques, renflées et verticales suggèrent quand à elles une deuxième bouche. Ces chimères «doublivores» semblent alors liées au culte de la dévoration, convoquant de terribles déesses aztèques et autres divinités païennes.

Au-delà des références à l’ornement et à l’histoire de l’art occidental, ces figures polymorphes questionnent la frontière entre décorum et œuvre d’art, troublent et suscitent l’imaginaire. Mais peut-être ne sont-elles là, à l’instar des mascarons apposés sur les fenêtres et les portes de la place du Parlement, que pour éloigner les mauvais esprits afin qu’ils ne pénètrent dans la demeure.

 

*  Didier Arnaudet