top of page
SUBURBIA - Jérémy Profit
SUBURBIA - Jérémy Profit
SUBURBIA - Jérémy Profit
SUBURBIA - Jérémy Profit

SUBURBIA - Jérémy Profit

July 10 to 25, 2014 - POLARIUM / Fabrique Pola

Polarium / Pola Factory

2 rue Marc Sangnier - Bègles

Monday to Friday, from 10am to 18pm

By appointment at + 33 (0) 6 62 11 52 26

Jérémy Profit seizes the next moment , the post-disaster stasis where humans hang up with life despite the field of ruin and devastation. This fifty virtuoso and careful drawings describes a world in decomposition, saturated with death and earthquakes, in which suicides rub shoulders with housewives and businessmen with imperturbable indifference. Mankind is bored there by Californian swimming pools, massacres with assault rifles or disappears in spectacular crashes. The quiet suburbs explode, like planes or nuclear power plants, translating for the artist, this need to draw a critical and paranoid vision of a world ruled by violence of which ultra-capitalism is the great authorizing officer.

*

Born in Saint-Brieuc in 1976, Jérémy Profit left very early to settle in the Landes, where the linearity and rigorous arrangement of artificial landscapes had a definite influence on his way of drawing. Marked by US culture - a generational thing - the artist first transcribed through his felt-tip drawings these icons of a welfare state for his music, his cinema, his brands and his television. Invasion, supremacy, globalization. Jérémy Profit draws on it, is inspired by photo reports, advertisements, coupled with searches on Google images to be resolutely truthful. The views are aerial, low angle, yet no cast shadow disturbs the perfect clarity of the line. The thoroughness of the gesture contrasts moreover with the dramaturgy and the chaos of the subjects; while the line is clear, without roughness or spectacularization, the narrative fabric is extremely dark.

Urbi and orbi.

These images of the world thus depict a precarious and individualistic society, in which people are treated in an impersonal way, anonymous little fellows populating the urban and suburban architectures like an undifferentiated mass, a social body in a state of decomposition. To the fragility of things responds that of our existence, provisional and therefore subject to its loss, to the chance of the accident, on the circumscribing scale of a depersonalized or planetary suburb, cf. Fukushima. These places are heterotopic, they could be located in America, in the suburbia of any US TV series, near a Japanese nuclear power plant, in a patriotically French field, at the foot of an EDF pylon. Anyway , the damage is done: Jeremy Profit's drawing vitrifies the point of no return so that his viewer can assess the before and after of an inventory.

No Future and past punk, the artist did not belong to the Grindcore scene for nothing. Guitarist of the group Öpstand, he adhered to the protest spirit of the punk movement, power-violence tendency, where a soothing and culturally impoverished daily life is unleashed by the critical brutality of visceral and epileptic music. This early heritage, linked to the aestheticism of naive art and folk art, Raymond Pettibon as a spiritual father, generates a cruelly sensitive and expressive drawing, tragically disillusioned as the ultimate evocation of a demythologized counter-utopia.

**

Jérémy Profit was born in 1976 in Saint-Brieuc. He lives and works in Bordeaux.

His works were shown in Berlin and Geneva in 2007, at the CAPC in 2010, at Arc en rêve in 2012 and at Bidart and Bilbao in 2013. This solo exhibition at the Fabrique Pola is the first retrospective of his drawings, produced between 2004 and 2014.

Blueberry Bourgeois

Exhibition scheduled at the Polarium , the artistic influence of the Fabrique Pola, as part of the Metropolitan Summer .

bottom of page

Zébra3

10 quai de Brazza

(Fabrique Pola)

33 100 Bordeaux - France

zebra3@buy-sellf.com

Tel +33 (0) 9 52 18 88 29

  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • YouTube - Black Circle

SUBURBIA - Jérémy Profit

10 au 25 juillet 2014 - POLARIUM / Fabrique Pola

Polarium / Fabrique Pola

2 rue Marc Sangnier - Bègles

Du lundi au vendredi de 10h à 18h

Sur Rdv au + 33 (0)6 62 11 52 26

 

Jérémy Profit saisit le moment d’après, la stase post-catastrophe où l’humain raccroche avec la vie malgré le champ de ruine et la dévastation. Cette cinquantaine de dessins virtuoses et soignés décrit un monde en décomposition, saturé de mort et de séismes, dans lequel des suicidés côtoient des ménagères et des businessmen à l’indifférence imperturbable. L’humanité s’y ennuie au bord de piscines californiennes, y massacre au fusil d’assaut ou disparaît dans des crashs spectaculaires. La banlieue tranquille explose, à l’instar des avions ou des centrales nucléaires, traduisant pour l’artiste, cette nécessité de mettre en dessin une vision critique et paranoïaque d’un monde régi par la violence dont l’ultra-capitalisme est le grand ordonnateur.

 

*

Né à Saint-Brieuc en 1976, Jérémy Profit est très tôt parti s’établir dans les Landes, dont la linéarité et l’agencement rigoureux des paysages artificiels ont eu une influence certaine sur sa manière de dessiner. Marqué par la culture US – un truc générationnel – l’artiste a d’abord retranscrit par le biais de ses dessins au feutre ces icônes d’un État-providence pour sa musique, son cinéma, ses marques et sa télévision. Invasion, suprématie, globalisation. Jérémy Profit y puise, s’inspire de photoreportages, de publicités, couplés à des recherches sur Google images pour être résolument vériste. Les vues sont aériennes, en contre-plongée, pourtant aucune ombre portée ne vient troubler la parfaite clarté du trait. La minutie du geste contraste d’ailleurs avec la dramaturgie et le chaos des sujets ; tandis que le tracé est net, sans aspérité ni spectacularisation, le tissus narratif est, lui, d’une noirceur extrême.

 

Urbi et Orbi.

 

Ces images du monde dépeignent ainsi une société précaire et individualiste, dans lesquelles les êtres sont traités de façon impersonnelle, petits bonshommes anonymes peuplant les architectures urbaines et pavillonnaires telle une masse indifférenciée, un corps social à l’état de décomposition. À la fragilité des choses répond celle de notre existence, provisoire et donc soumise à sa perte, au hasard de l’accident, à l’échelle circonscriptible d’une banlieue dépersonnalisée, ou planétaire, cf. Fukushima. Ces lieux sont hétérotopiques, ils pourraient être sis en Amérique, dans la suburbia d’une quelconque série télé états-unienne, aux abords d’une centrale nucléaire japonaise, dans un champ patriotiquement français, au pied d’un pylône EDF. Anyway, le mal est fait : le dessin de Jeremy Profit vitrifie le point de non-retour afin que son spectateur évalue l’avant et l’après d’un état des lieux.

 

No Future et passé punk, l’artiste n’a pas pour rien appartenu à la scène Grindcore. Guitariste du groupe Öpstand, il a adhéré à l’esprit revendicatif du mouvement punk, tendance power-violence, où un quotidien lénifiant et culturellement paupérisé se dézingue à la brutalité critique d’une musique viscérale et épileptique. Cet héritage des débuts, acoquiné à l’esthétisme de l’art naïf et du folk Art, Raymond Pettibon en père spirituel, génère un dessin cruellement sensible et expressif, au tragique désabusé comme évocation ultime d’une contre-utopie démythifiée.

 

**

Jérémy Profit est né en 1976 à Saint-Brieuc. Il vit et travaille à Bordeaux.

Ses œuvres ont été montrées à Berlin et Genève en 2007, au CAPC en 2010, à Arc en rêve en 2012 et à Bidart et Bilbao en 2013. Cette exposition personnelle à la Fabrique Pola est la première rétrospective de ses dessins, réalisés entre 2004 et 2014.

 

Myrtille Bourgeois

 

 

Exposition programmée au Polarium, espace de rayonnement artistique de la Fabrique Pola, dans le cadre de l'Eté Métropolitain.