top of page
Vincent Carlier
Vincent Carlier
Vincent Carlier

Vincent Carlier - HYPERESPACE

July 9 to September 13, 2015 - Vitrine 7 place du Parlement, Bordeaux

Even if hyperspace is still only a narrative process used in science fiction to justify intergalactic journeys by folding space time, it is in quantum physics that we find the springs.

But one of the great problems of quantum physics is to give images to be seen in order to be apprehended. Here, it is with a Venetian blind that Vincent Carlier (1) chooses to partially address the question. By a seemingly simple device, he first invites the viewer to a sensitive experience.

The Place du Parlement is a place for strolling, passing through, taking a break with friends over a drink. Different temporalities coexist there.

We could talk about different time spaces, or draw a parallel with the notion of multiverse (coexistence of multiple universes) by observing the many uses of this piece of public space.

With their different time scales, people pass, cross, walk, run, with varying degrees of attention to their surroundings and to the Crystal Palace showcase. One thing brings them together, however, movement in space.

Thus, it is in this specific contextual awareness that the project finds its correctness, and if we know with Marcel Duchamp that it is the spectator who makes the work, here, it is the spectator's movement in the square that will provoke his sensitive relationship with it.

Vincent Carlier operates here an astonishing superposition, by summoning very distant formal universes. On the one hand, the ordinary domestic banality imposes itself in the window with a Venetian blind.

On the other hand, its silhouette is foiled by an elaborate graphic form, chosen for its visual aspect and without betraying its scientific origin. Resulting from a study on additive interferences between two electrons, wave mechanics (2), is thus found in a showcase, transformed into an optical pattern, and the blind becomes a visual distortion tool, the first step in finding the folds of the time and escape into hyperspace.

( 1) Vincent Carlier is resident artist of the Fabrique Pola

(2) Wave mechanics is the initial form of quantum mechanics

defining the general framework of the behavior of elementary particles,

until it constitutes the basis of modern physics.

bottom of page

Zébra3

10 quai de Brazza

(Fabrique Pola)

33 100 Bordeaux - France

zebra3@buy-sellf.com

Tel +33 (0) 9 52 18 88 29

  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • YouTube - Black Circle

Vincent Carlier - HYPERESPACE

 

du 9 juillet au 13 septembre 2015 - Vitrine 7 place du Parlement, Bordeaux

Même si l’hyperespace n’est encore qu’un procédé narratif utilisé en science fiction pour justifier des voyages intergalactiques en pliant l’espace temps, c’est bien dans la physique quantique qu’on en trouve les ressorts.

Mais un des grands problèmes de la physique quantique est de donner des images à voir afin d’être appréhendée. Ici, c’est avec un store vénitien que Vincent Carlier (1) choisit d’aborder en partie la question. Par un dispositif simple en apparence, c’est à une expérience sensible qu’il invite d’abord le spectateur.

La Place du Parlement est un lieu de flânerie, de passage, de pause entre amis autour d’un verre. Différentes temporalités s’y côtoient.

On pourrait parler de différents espaces temps, ou faire un parallèle avec la notion de multivers (coexistence d’univers multiples) en observant les nombreux usages de ce morceau d’espace public.

Avec leurs différentes échelles de temps, les gens passent, traversent, marchent, courent, avec plus ou moins d’attention pour ce qui les entoure et pour la vitrine de Crystal Palace. Une chose les réunit pourtant, le mouvement dans l’espace.

 

Ainsi, c’est dans cette conscience contextuelle spécifique que le projet trouve sa justesse, et si on sait avec Marcel Duchamp que c’est le spectateur qui fait l’œuvre, ici, c’est le mouvement du spectateur sur la place qui provoquera sa relation sensible avec celle-ci.

Vincent Carlier opère ici une étonnante superposition, en convoquant des univers formels très éloignés. D’un côté, l’ordinaire banalité domestique s’impose en vitrine avec un store vénitien.

De l’autre, sa silhouette est déjouée par une forme graphique élaborée, choisie pour son aspect visuel et sans trahir son origine scientifique. Issue d’une étude sur les interférences additives entre deux électrons, la mécanique ondulatoire (2), se retrouve ainsi mise en vitrine, transformée en motif optique, et le store  devient un outil de distorsion visuelle, première étape pour trouver les plis de l’espace temps et s’évader dans l’hyperespace.

 

 

(1)  Vincent Carlier est artiste résident de la Fabrique Pola

 

(2) La mécanique ondulatoire est la forme initiale de la mécanique quantique

définissant le cadre général du comportement des particules élémentaires,

jusqu'à constituer le socle de la physique moderne.