top of page
DSC07714.JPG
DSC07708.JPG
DSC07722.JPG

Winshluss - Lunch under the grass

from January 15 to March 1, 2015 - Vitrine 7 place du Parlement, Bordeaux

Winshluss offers for the window in Parliament Square, a vitriolic parody of Déjeuner surherbe , a famous painting by Edouard Manet. Produced in 1863, the canvas caused a scandal at the time, both for its style and its craftsmanship, breaking with academic codes, and for the casualness of the naked woman sitting impudently between two dressed men.

With Lunch on the Grass , Edouard Manet claimed the modern heritage of the masters of the Renaissance. In turn, Pablo Picasso, Alain Jacquet, and even Rip Hopkins paid tribute to this painting anchored in the history of Western art.

What could be more natural for Winshluss than to take again the composition of Manet, with all the peculiarities specific to his universe. Macabre and grating humor, amusing or uplifting parody, none of the characters emerge unscathed from this game of incendiary massacre. In a post-apocalyptic landscape, creatures emerge, like this bather transformed into a swamp monster. Extremophile or panchronic species swarm, feed on a ruined world. Exacerbated representation of the primitive aspects of the human species, stripped of all the codes of civilization used to restrict and control impulses, the zombies languish and now reign supreme.

Between pure satire and transgressive intention, this aesthetic explosion, dynamited by Winshluss's expressionist trait, is so extreme that it becomes hilarious. Thanks to a comic-macabre staging of death, the decrepitude of the body and social chaos, Winshluss deconditioned the offended, tames our fears, and allows us to laugh at them.

- Winshluss, alias Vincent Paronnaud, is an artist with an atypical and prolific career. Cartoonist, sculptor, visual artist, musician and director, he multiplies projects and collaborations. His Pinocchio album was praised in 2008 at the Angoulême International Comics Festival. The animated film Persépolis, co-directed with Marjane Satrapi, received in 2007 the Special Jury Prize at the Cannes Film Festival. Already present in the Toy Comix exhibition in 2007 with the Association Ferraille, in 2013 he offered the exhibition “A wonderful world” in the Toys gallery of the Musée des Arts Décoratifs in Paris . -

Work produced by Zébra3 and produced in its workshops.

bottom of page

Zébra3

10 quai de Brazza

(Fabrique Pola)

33 100 Bordeaux - France

zebra3@buy-sellf.com

Tel +33 (0) 9 52 18 88 29

  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • YouTube - Black Circle

Winshluss - Le déjeuner sous l'herbe

du 15 janvier au 1 mars 2015 - Vitrine 7 place du Parlement, Bordeaux

Winshluss propose pour la vitrine place du Parlement, une parodie au vitriol du Déjeuner sur l’herbe, célèbre tableau d’Edouard Manet. Réalisée en 1863, la toile fit scandale à l’époque, tant pour son style et sa facture, en rupture avec les codes académiques, que pour la désinvolture de la femme nue assise impudemment entre deux hommes vêtus.

 

Avec Le déjeuner sur l’herbe, Edouard Manet revendiquait l’héritage moderne des maîtres de la Renaissance. A leur tour Pablo Picasso, Alain Jacquet, ou encore Rip Hopkins ont rendu hommage à ce tableau ancré dans l’histoire de l’art occidental.

Quoi de plus naturel pour Winshluss que de reprendre la composition de Manet, avec toutes les singularités propres à son univers. Humour macabre et grinçant, parodie amusante ou édifiante, aucun des personnages ne sort indemne de ce jeu de massacre incendiaire. Dans un paysage post-apocalyptique surgissent les créatures, à l’instar de cette baigneuse transformée en monstre des marais. Les espèces extrêmophiles ou panchroniques grouillent, se repaissent d’un monde en ruine. Représentation exacerbée des aspects primitifs de l’espèce humaine, débarrassés de tous les codes de la civilisation servant à restreindre et contrôler les pulsions, les zombies se languissent et règnent désormais en maître.

 

Entre pure satire et intention transgressive, cette déflagration esthétique, dynamitée par le trait expressionniste de Winshluss, est si extrême qu’elle en devient hilarante. Grâce à une mise en scène comico-macabre de la mort, de la décrépitude du corps et du chaos social, Winshluss déconditionne les offusqués, apprivoise nos craintes, et nous permet d’en ricaner.

 

- Winshluss, alias Vincent Paronnaud, est un artiste au parcours atypique et prolifique. Dessinateur de bandes dessinées, sculpteur, plasticien, musicien et réalisateur, il multiplie les projets et les collaborations. Son album Pinocchio est salué en 2008 au Festival international de la bande dessinée d’Angoulême. Le film d’animation Persépolis, coréalisé avec Marjane Satrapi, reçoit en 2007 le Prix spécial du jury du Festival de Cannes. Déjà présent dans l’exposition Toy Comix en 2007 avec l’Association Ferraille, il propose en 2013 dans la galerie des Jouets du Musée des Arts Décoratifs de Paris l’exposition «Un monde merveilleux». -

 

Œuvre produite par Zébra3 et réalisée dans ses ateliers.