top of page
Benjamin Artola
Benjamin Artola
Benjamin Artola
Exhibition from May 4 to June 19, 2016 - Vitrine 7 place du Parlement, Bordeaux

Benjamin Artola - Crystal trap

Multidisciplinary artist, Benjamin Artola seeks to create unusual encounters in his work. He confronts, in his adolescence of the 90s, popular culture and elite culture, mixing memories, reality and fiction with humor and derision, creates psychedelic universes where the blue of the oceans and that of the cosmic elements sometimes merge.


The artist trades here the pencils and markers he likes for a ribbon, one of the five devices used in rhythmic gymnastics. Tirelessly whipped, the satin band draws convolutions in the manner of a possessed snake and seems to dilate the enclosed space of the window.
The cadenced flows of undulations and spirals are as many echoes of the living water of rivers, the breaking of the swell or the movement of celestial bodies, recurring in the artist's work. “ The seas and oceans remain an unknown part of our own land and, like the universe, this invisibility builds a potential conducive to the rustling of the imagination. In the ocean as in the sky, the elements slip by in an apparent stillness that only the moments of contact with our atmosphere make visible. "(1)


The motifs affixed by the artist to the entire ribbon refer to his drawing practice, jubilant and colorful, with artificial flies or tropical fish, a vibrant variegation that reinforces the hypnotic effect of undulating movements.
Unlike the gymnast's execution, there is hardly any hair-raising “exit” here at the end of the sequence, nor the last “shoot” before the fly fisherman's pose, just the perpetual and mechanical movement of a ribbon which swirls tirelessly in the void, an inoffensive lure which captures the gaze, charms and confuses all at the same time, provoking in the consenting spectator a state close to trance.

(1) Anthony Lenoir

bottom of page

Zébra3

10 quai de Brazza

(Fabrique Pola)

33 100 Bordeaux - France

zebra3@buy-sellf.com

Tel +33 (0) 9 52 18 88 29

  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • YouTube - Black Circle
Exposition du 4 mai au 19 juin 2016 - Vitrine 7 place du Parlement, Bordeaux

Benjamin Artola - Piège de crystal

 

Artiste pluridisciplinaire, Benjamin Artola cherche à créer des rencontres inhabituelles dans son travail. Il confronte, en fouillant dans son adolescence des années 90, culture populaire et culture d’élite, mélange souvenirs, réalité et fiction avec humour et dérision, fabrique des univers psychédéliques où se confond parfois le bleu des océans et celui des éléments cosmiques.


L’artiste troque ici les crayons et les feutres qu’il affectionne pour un ruban, l’un des cinq engins utilisés en gymnastique rythmique. Inlassablement fouettée, la bande de satin dessine des circonvolutions à la manière d’un serpent possédé et semble dilater l’espace clos de la vitrine.
Les flux cadencés des ondulations et des spirales sont autant d’échos à l’eau vive des rivières, au déferlement de la houle ou au mouvement des corps célestes, récurrents dans le travail de l’artiste. « Les mers et les océans restent une partie inconnue de notre propre terre et à la manière de l’univers, cette invisibilité construit un potentiel propice au bruissement de l’imaginaire. Dans l’océan comme dans le ciel, les éléments filent dans une apparente immobilité que seuls les moments de contact avec notre atmosphère rendent visibles. » (1)


Les motifs apposés par l’artiste sur la totalité du ruban renvoient à sa pratique du dessin, jubilatoire et colorée, aux mouches artificielles ou aux poissons tropicaux, un bariolage vibrant qui renforce l’effet hypnotique des mouvements ondulatoires.
Contrairement à l’exécution du gymnaste il n’y a guère ici de «sortie» ébouriffante à la fin de l’enchaînement, ni de dernier «shoot» avant le poser du pêcheur à la mouche, juste le mouvement perpétuel et mécanique d’un ruban qui tournoie inlassablement dans le vide, un leurre inoffensif qui capte le regard, charme et déroute tout à la fois, provoquant chez le spectateur consentant un état proche de la transe.

(1) Anthony Lenoir