top of page
Cécile Beau
Cécile Beau
Cécile Beau
from March 12 to April 27, 2015 - Vitrine 7 place du Parlement, Bordeaux

Cécile Beau - C = 1 / √px

“Composed of installations where sound, image and object maintain close and multiple relationships, Cécile Beau's work develops through the adoption of contradictory vanishing points. The visible and the invisible blend together. The pure and the impure intermingle. The radars of perception are deafening, fogged up by enigmatic and timeless rustles. These are forests, rivers, horizons and mists that breathe as in the early hours of the day. They are also machines, mechanisms, factories, illusions and samples, witnesses of an almost clinical attention paid to things, the blade of his scalpel opening up sensory perspectives, under steady light and according to depths of field. to say the least hallucinated. (1) "

C = 1 / √px is a sound sculpture in the form of a miniature refinery. Tubes, flasks, ampoules and other laboratory glassware are arranged in a sort of transparent still, generating a sound "distillation": sounds run through this machinery and are transformed during the process.

The raw material used is a mixture of sound streams coming live from different urban sites on the planet and various sounds broadcast randomly. Thanks to speakers and microphones which take turns in this transparent architectural model, a sound circulation is created.

The noises are filtered slowly during their passage from one module to another, the harmonics generated by the glass round and reshape these sounds until they lose their original texture ...

(1) Text by Emile Soulier

Special thanks to Les Ortigues

Frac Center Collection, Orleans

bottom of page

Zébra3

10 quai de Brazza

(Fabrique Pola)

33 100 Bordeaux - France

zebra3@buy-sellf.com

Tel +33 (0) 9 52 18 88 29

  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • YouTube - Black Circle
du 12 mars au 27 avril 2015 - Vitrine 7 place du Parlement, Bordeaux

Cécile Beau - C=1/√px

 

« Composée d’installations où le son, l’image et l’objet entretiennent des rapports étroits et multiples, l’œuvre de Cécile Beau s’élabore dans l’adoption de points de fuite contradictoires. Le visible et l’invisible se mélangent. Le pur et l’impur s’entremêlent. Les radars de la perception s’étourdissent, embués par d’énigmatiques et atemporels bruissements. Ce sont des forêts, des rivières, des horizons et des brumes qui respirent comme aux premières heures du jour. Ce sont aussi des machines, des mécanismes, des usines, des illusions et des échantillons, témoins d’une attention quasi clinique portée sur les choses, la lame de son scalpel ouvrant des perspectives sensorielles, sous des lumières étales et selon des profondeurs de champ pour le moins hallucinées. (1) »

 

C=1/√px  est une sculpture sonore qui prend la forme d’une raffinerie miniature. Des tubes, ballons, ampoules et autres verreries de laboratoire sont agencés en une sorte d’alambic transparent, générant une « distillation » sonore : des sons parcourent cette machinerie et se transforment au cours du processus.

La matière première utilisée est un mélange de flux sonores provenant en direct de différents sites urbains de la planète et de sonorités variées diffusées aléatoirement. Grâce à des haut parleurs et des micros qui se relaient dans cette maquette architecturale transparente, une circulation sonore est créée.

Les bruits sont filtrés lentement lors de leur passage d’un module à l’autre, les harmoniques que génère le verre arrondissent et remodèlent ces sons jusqu’à perte de leur texture première...

 

(1) Texte d’Emile Soulier

 

 

Remerciement Les Ortigues

 

 

Collection Frac Centre, Orléans