top of page
cindycoutantzebra3
Residency from August 25 to September 21, 2016
Exhibition from September 22 to October 23, 2016 - Vitrine 7 place du Parlement, Bordeaux

Cindy Coutant - UNDERSHOOT, sensitive data: Chelsea

My work questions different forms of enunciation. Essay, opera, installation, performance, the written forms that I constitute bring into play everyday language in a way that is as lyrical as it is disembodied, highlighting through this distance our own tensions between order and disorder. From the jumble of shapeless thoughts to the sentence, what happens?
The undershoot (or target undershoot), in linguistics, is a phenomenon of failure of the articulatory target. In other words, what is pronounced by the speaker does not arrive (or badly) at its end, nor, in fact, until its addressee. The reasons for failure are numerous: joint laziness, stammering, internal and external acoustics, etc., and the tragic consequences: between speaker and listener, partial or total incomprehension; for each of them a feeling of failure, of not being heard or understood.
My project for the device <3, entitled UNDERSHOOT , is a textual opera project in 3 acts. It will take the above-mentioned phenomenon as its starting point, by transposing it into the “mouth” of digital objects. The experiment will be twofold: it will first be a question of finding a writing device allowing these digital entities to enter into "conversation", but also to orient, push and reorganize this material to its point of origin. fiction. Throughout the construction of this project, I will partner with Jérémie Nuel, graphic designer and teacher in contemporary digital practices at the École supérieure d'art et de design de Saint Étienne.
Thus, at Crystal Palace-Zébra3 (Bordeaux), at Confort Moderne (Poitiers), and at LAC & S Lavitrine (Limoges), the 3 acts will unfold, distinct in their form but linked, featuring different machine-speakers. These will take the floor, between virtual power and power undershoot; eager to be heard, in a silent but visible way.

Cindy Coutant

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Exhibition programmed as part of the <3 co-production scheme organized by Confort Moderne, LACS / LAVITRINE, and Zébra3
Crystal Palace broadcast program: Anne-Marie Civilise Partnership - Acknowledgments Brigitte Beau-Poncie

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

Program of residencies & exhibitions of the co-production device <3

Cindy Coutant - UNDERSHOOT


Bordeaux - Zébra3
Residency from August 25 to September 21, 2016
Exhibition from September 23 to October 23, 2016
Opening Thursday September 22 at 6.30 p.m.
Location: Crystal Palace broadcast program - 7 place du Parlement in Bordeaux


Poitiers - Modern Comfort
Residence from October 5 to 17, 2016
Exhibition from October 19 to November 16, 2016
Opening Tuesday October 18 at 7 p.m.
Location: Poitiers


Limoges - LAC & S / LAVITRINE
Residence from December 5 to 18, 2016
Exhibition from December 20, 2016 to January 27, 2017
Opening Monday December 19 at 7 p.m.
Location: LAVITRINE - 4 rue Raspail in Limoges

bottom of page

Zébra3

10 quai de Brazza

(Fabrique Pola)

33 100 Bordeaux - France

zebra3@buy-sellf.com

Tel +33 (0) 9 52 18 88 29

  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • YouTube - Black Circle
Résidence du 25 août au 21 septembre 2016
Exposition du 22 septembre au 23 octobre 2016 - Vitrine 7 place du Parlement, Bordeaux

Cindy Coutant - UNDERSHOOT, données sensibles : Chelsea

 

Mon travail interroge différentes formes d’énonciation. Essai, opéra, installation, performance, les formes écrites que je constitue mettent en jeu le langage quotidien de manière aussi lyrique que désincarnée, mettant en relief par cette distance nos propres tensions entre ordre et désordre. Du fatras de pensées informe à la phrase, que se passe-t-il ?
L’undershoot (ou target undershoot), en linguistique, est un phénomène de ratage de la cible articulatoire. Autrement dit, ce qui est prononcé par le locuteur n’arrive pas (ou mal) à son terme, ni, de fait, jusqu’à son destinataire. Les raisons de l’échec sont nombreuses : paresse articulatoire, bégaiement, acoustique interne et externe, etc., et les conséquences tragiques : entre le locuteur et l’auditeur, une incompréhension partielle ou totale ; pour chacun d’eux un sentiment d’échec, de ne pas être entendu ou compris.
Mon projet pour le dispositif <3, intitulé UNDERSHOOT, est un projet d’opéra textuel en 3 actes. Il prendra pour point de départ le phénomène sus-cité, en le transposant dans la « bouche » d’objets numériques. L’expérimentation sera double : il s’agira d’abord de trouver un dispositif d’écriture permettant à ces entités numériques d’entrer en « conversation », mais aussi d’orienter, pousser et réorganiser cette matière jusqu’à son point de fiction. Tout au long de la construction de ce projet, je m’associerai avec Jérémie Nuel, designer graphique et enseignant en pratiques numériques contemporaines à l’École supérieure d’art et de design de Saint Étienne.
Ainsi, à Crystal Palace-Zébra3 (Bordeaux), au Confort Moderne (Poitiers), et à LAC&S Lavitrine (Limoges), les 3 actes se déploieront, distincts dans leur forme mais liés, mettant en scène différentes machines-locutrices. Celles-ci prendront la parole, entre puissance virtuelle et undershoot en puissance ; avides de se faire entendre, de manière silencieuse mais visible.

Cindy Coutant

Exposition programmée dans le cadre du dispositif de co-production <3 organisé par le Confort Moderne, LACS/LAVITRINE, et Zébra3
Programme de diffusion Crystal Palace : Partenariat Anne-Marie Civilise - Remerciements Brigitte Beau-Poncie

 

Programme des résidences & expositions du dispositif de co-production <3

Cindy Coutant - UNDERSHOOT


Bordeaux - Zébra3
Résidence du 25 août au 21 septembre 2016
Exposition du 23 septembre au 23 octobre 2016
Vernissage jeudi 22 septembre à 18h30
Lieu : Programme de diffusion Crystal Palace - 7 place du Parlement à Bordeaux


Poitiers - Le Confort Moderne
Résidence du 5 au 17 octobre 2016
Exposition du 19 octobre au 16 novembre 2016
Vernissage mardi 18 octobre à 19h
Lieu : Poitiers


Limoges - LAC&S/LAVITRINE
Résidence du 5 au 18 décembre 2016
Exposition du 20 décembre 2016 au 27 janvier 2017
Vernissage lundi 19 décembre à 19h
Lieu : LAVITRINE - 4 rue Raspail à Limoges

En voir plus
En voir plus