top of page
Hippolyte Hentgen
Hippolyte Hentgen
Hippolyte Hentgen
Hippolyte Hentgen
Hippolyte Hentgen

Hippolyte Hentgen - Tangram

from 6 November 2014 to 4 January 2015 - Vitrine 7 place du Parlement, Bordeaux

Tangram: Chinese puzzle, mathematical game, constructions and formal logic, dissection of the square into seven shapes. Educational motive for evaluating creativity in a group, it is also a telephone application to be classified in hypnotic activities, remedy against all forms of anxiety, such as a purring to avoid thinking of something else.

For this exhibition in the window, it is an assembly game of nine light boxes, the principle of which is to recall the drawn character of the figures. The formats correspond to several referents: anthropomorphic, advertising sign, horizon line which recreates a small theater and the assembly game itself.

It is a question of making coexist by rebounds different registers of images, like an x-ray of the work with four hands which composes the duo Hippolyte Hentgen.

Hippolyte Hentgen is interested in drawing for its ability and power to reproduce. Through this primary faculty, the question of the document is also raised, hence the cohabitation in “Tangram” of postcards, museum archives or even extracts from sketchbooks. It is a question of reality and what is its copy, reproduction, image, trace ...

From the light form of the discursive drawing, which appears like taking notes, to the drawings which impose more technical constraints, the question remains the same: how to draw, here and now? What could be a form that conveys a kind of accuracy? What fluidity and what leeway do we have for this activity? What tricks do we have to show to be able to say that we are the authors? How to compete with the industrial and colossal flow of images, archetypes and clichés? So many questions that find possible answers only in the lightness of the juggling and in the abandonment of the game.

Work produced by Zébra3 and produced in its workshops.

bottom of page

Hippolyte Hentgen
Hippolyte Hentgen
Hippolyte Hentgen
Hippolyte Hentgen
Hippolyte Hentgen

Hippolyte Hentgen - Tangram

du 6 novembre 2014 au 4 janvier 2015 - Vitrine 7 place du Parlement, Bordeaux

Tangram : Casse tête chinois, jeu mathématique, constructions et logique formelle, dissection du carré en sept formes. Motif pédagogique pour évaluer la créativité en groupe, il est aussi une application téléphonique à classer dans les activités hypnotiques, remède contre toute formes d’anxiétés,  comme un ronron pour éviter de penser à autre chose.

 

C’est, pour cette exposition dans la vitrine, un jeu d’assemblage de neuf caissons lumineux dont le principe est de rappeler le caractère dessiné des figures. Les formats correspondent à plusieurs référents : anthropomorphe, enseigne publicitaire, ligne d'horizon qui reconstitue un petit théâtre et le jeu d'assemblage à proprement dit.

 

Il s’agit de faire cohabiter par rebonds différents registres d'images, comme une radiographie du travail à quatre mains qui compose le duo Hippolyte Hentgen.

Hippolyte Hentgen s’intéresse au dessin pour sa capacité et sa puissance à reproduire. Au travers de cette faculté première se pose également la question du document d’où la cohabitation dans « Tangram » de cartes postales, d’archives muséales ou encore d’extraits de carnet de croquis.  Il est question du  réel et ce qui en est la copie,  de la reproduction ,  l’image , la trace …

 

De la forme légère du dessin discursif, qui apparaît comme une prise de notes, aux dessins qui imposent plus de contraintes techniques, la question reste la même : comment dessiner, ici et maintenant ? Que pourrait être une forme qui véhicule une sorte de justesse ? Quelle fluidité et quelle marge de manœuvre avons nous pour cette activité ? De quelles ruses faut-il faire preuve pour pouvoir dire que nous en sommes les auteurs ? Comment rivaliser avec le flux industriel et colossal d’images, d’archétypes et de poncifs ? Autant de questions qui ne trouvent de réponses possibles que dans la légèreté du jonglage et dans l’abandon au jeu.

 

Œuvre produite par Zébra3 et réalisée dans ses ateliers.

Zébra3

10 quai de Brazza

(Fabrique Pola)

33 100 Bordeaux - France

zebra3@buy-sellf.com

Tel +33 (0) 9 52 18 88 29

  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • YouTube - Black Circle
ABRASIVEGuillaume Laidain