top of page
Laurent Kropf - L'entrepreneur
Laurent Kropf Crystal Palace Place Parlement Bordeaux exposition art
Laurent Kropf Crystal Palace Place Parlement Bordeaux exposition art
Laurent Kropf Crystal Palace Place Parlement Bordeaux exposition art
Laurent Kropf Crystal Palace Place Parlement Bordeaux exposition art
Laurent Kropf - L'entrepreneur
Laurent Kropf - L'entrepreneur
Laurent Kropf - L'entrepreneur
Laurent Kropf Crystal Palace Place Parlement Bordeaux exposition art

Laurent Kropf - The entrepreneur

from October 4 to November 24, 2013 - Vitrine 7 place du Parlement, Bordeaux

The showcase, exceptionally fitted out as a performative space open to the public, hosts The Entrepreneur, a work imagined by Laurent Kropf which is inspired both by the 18th century workshop and the 21st century curatorial approach.

The Swiss artist living in Bordeaux embodies the figure of the artisan-entrepreneur, whose main activity consists in producing objects in series. About fifteen artists each provided him with plans for a multiple, a work of art that could be produced in multiple copies. They thus accepted the invitation to take on the role of the owner for the occasion, who provides the contractor with the work to be done.

Produced on site, the works are exhibited in the window and sold during openings to the public. The barge can then meet the artisan-entrepreneur and acquire a certified original work of art. He is thus allowed, in turn, to embody for posterity and for a small fee the role of collector and owner of a heritage. By diverting the reputedly essential figure of the gallery owner and by fixing the price of the object in an intrinsic way, Laurent Kropf not without humor questions the value of art.

The entrepreneur thus considers the work of art in its entirety, allows to approach the romantic myth of the artist / craftsman and to apprehend a relationship of proximity renewed to the processes of creation. This idealized vision underlies the critique of a marginal economic system. Because if he approaches with nostalgia the figure of the apprentice and the master's workshop, he also questions in a more contemporary way the function of assistant, often food, sometimes schizophrenic.

This proposal echoes the reflections which led in 1998 to the creation of Buy-Sellf, the first catalog for the sale of works by mail order, and which still continue to animate Zébra3 today through its production activities.

Website: www.lentrepreneur.pro

With works by Pauline Beaudemont, Charles Cuccu, Philippe Daerendinger, Karim Forlin, Gilles Furtwängler, Vincent Ganivet, Aloïs Godinat, Vincent Kohler, Pierre Labat, Mélodie Mousset, Damián Navarro, Philippe Oberson, Guillaume Pilet, Tatiana Rihs, Denis Savary, Christine Solaï and Pierre Grangé-Praderas.

Project produced with the kind collaboration of Florent Larronde / SAME O

bottom of page

Zébra3

10 quai de Brazza

(Fabrique Pola)

33 100 Bordeaux - France

zebra3@buy-sellf.com

Tel +33 (0) 9 52 18 88 29

  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • YouTube - Black Circle

Laurent Kropf - L'entrepreneur

du 4 octobre au 24 novembre 2013 - Vitrine 7 place du Parlement, Bordeaux

La vitrine, exceptionnellement aménagée en espace performatif ouvert au public, accueille L’entrepreneur, une œuvre imaginée par Laurent Kropf qui s’inspire à la fois de l’atelier du XVIIIème siècle et de la démarche curatoriale du XXIème siècle.

L'artiste suisse résidant à Bordeaux y incarne la figure de l'artisan-entrepreneur, dont l'activité principale consiste à fabriquer des objets en série. Une quinzaine d'artistes lui ont chacun fourni les plans d'un multiple, œuvre d'art réalisable en plusieurs exemplaires. Ils ont ainsi accepté l'invitation à endosser pour l'occasion le rôle du maître d'ouvrage, qui fournit à L'entrepreneur le travail à effectuer. 

Réalisées sur place, les œuvres sont exposées en vitrine et vendues lors des ouvertures au public. Le chaland peut alors y rencontrer l’artisan-entrepreneur et acquérir une œuvre d’art originale certifiée. Il lui est ainsi permis, à son tour, d'incarner pour la postérité et pour une somme modique le rôle de collectionneur et propriétaire d'un patrimoine. En détournant la figure réputée incontournable du galeriste et en fixant le prix de l'objet de manière intrinsèque, Laurent Kropf questionne non sans humour la valeur de l'art. 

L’entrepreneur envisage ainsi l’œuvre d’art dans sa globalité, permet d’approcher le mythe romantique de l’artiste / artisan et d’appréhender un rapport de proximité renouvelé aux processus de création. Cette vision idéalisée sous-tend la critique d’un système économique marginal. Car s’il approche avec nostalgie la figure de l’apprenti et de l’atelier de maître, il interroge également de façon plus contemporaine la fonction d’assistant, souvent alimentaire, parfois schizophrénique.

Cette proposition trouve un écho aux réflexions qui ont abouties en 1998 à la création de Buy-Sellf, le premier catalogue de vente d’œuvres par correspondance, et qui aujourd’hui encore continuent d’animer Zébra3 à travers ses activités de production.

 

Site internet : www.lentrepreneur.pro

 

Avec les œuvres de Pauline Beaudemont, Charles Cuccu, Philippe Daerendinger, Karim Forlin, Gilles Furtwängler, Vincent Ganivet, Aloïs Godinat, Vincent Kohler, Pierre Labat, Mélodie Mousset, Damián Navarro, Philippe Oberson, Guillaume Pilet, Tatiana Rihs, Denis Savary, Christine Solaï et Pierre Grangé-Praderas.

 

Projet réalisé avec l'aimable collaboration de Florent Larronde / SAME O