top of page
Neptunea∏Bordeaux_Metropole_(13)_-_copie
Neptunea∏Bordeaux_Metropole (1) - copie
Neptunea∏Bordeaux_Metropole (8) - copie
20170915_082518 - copie
IMG_20170914_160655296 - copie
20170620_124051
20170628_163712
20170703_163326
refugeperiurbain
DSC04733 - copie
DSC04781 - copie 2
DSC04812 - copie 2
DSC04822 - copie 2
DSC04893 - copie 2

Mrzyk & Moriceau - Neptunea , Peri-urban Refuge # 10 - 2017

Study and production - Bordeaux Lac

As part of the Peri-Urban Refuges project, Mrzyk & Moriceau develop an architecture-sculpture that looks like a giant gastropod.

For the imagination, the shell connects two worlds: the opaque shell of the animal suggests a life beyond the gaze, the ambiguous relationship between a solid, protective, exposed shell and a soft, flexible, vulnerable, intimate mass. Inspired by the great family of Neptunea, the small interior imagined by the two artists draws up its diaphanous walls in a spiral impetus with soft curves, which by analogy evoke other shapes, from Italian ice to cyclonic clouds or arms. galaxies. In nature, there are no right angles.

This seashell house is also part of the wake of non-functionalist architectures, which advocate a fluid habitat, which recreates the link with the mother's womb, the protective shell, the nest. It recalls other architectures-sculptures of utopian builders such as Pierre Szekely, Jean-Louis Chanéac, Antti Lovag or Pascal & Claude Haüsermann. The latter, precursors of the shell house, designed the plans for Maison Unal, which directly inspired Annette Tison and Talus Taylor for the Barbapapa home. The seashell house owes a lot to these “bubble houses” with organic shapes, what is sometimes called Blob architecture.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Balanced on the edge of a body of water, the shell house seems straight out of its original biotope: however, by its supernatural scale, this apparition operates a shift specific to the universe of fairy tales or SF . A magical home, the work takes us to meet a world where standards waver - a phantasmic house where the flow of our blood undoubtedly beats very differently when we listen to it.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

The artists

At the end of the 90s, Petra Mrzyk and Jean-François Moriceau met at the Beaux-Arts in Quimper. They quickly started their graphic games with four hands, becoming the inseparable duo we know today. Their drawings with flexible lines and black ink plunge the viewer into a teeming universe, where bodies are in perpetual mutation, where humor is tinged with surrealist accents. Against monochrome backgrounds often devoid of scenery, they release peaceful creatures of unusual, distorted or hybridized proportions: extraordinary plants intersect with animal-satyrs, fragmented anatomies play with the plasticity of their forms, subject to the principle of strangeness. They do not neglect any medium: wall drawings, animated films and clips, installations, jewelry, iPhone application… In 2012, the artists sign their first work in public space, Lunar Tree, a large bare tree that becomes phosphorescent after dark.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Reservation for one night (free) on lesrefuges.bordeaux-metropole.fr

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Access: 55 Boulevard Jacque Chaban Delmas 33520 Bruges

Tram C les Aubiers then 10 minutes on foot or Liane 15 stop Center de voile
Site accessible only on foot or by bike.
The Refuge is basic and has no water, electricity or heating
Amenities: dry toilets 100 m away
Capacity: 6 people (1 collective bed)

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Information and booking (free) on lesrefuges.bordeaux-metropole.fr

The peri-urban refuges project is an initiative of Bruit du frigo , carried out in collaboration with Zébra3. It is supported and financed by Bordeaux Métropole, with the participation of the host municipalities.  

bottom of page

Zébra3

10 quai de Brazza

(Fabrique Pola)

33 100 Bordeaux - France

zebra3@buy-sellf.com

Tel +33 (0) 9 52 18 88 29

  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • YouTube - Black Circle

Mrzyk & Moriceau - Neptunea, Refuge périurbain #10 - 2017

Étude et production - Bordeaux Lac

Dans le cadre du projet des Refuges périurbains, Mrzyk & Moriceau élaborent une architecture-sculpture aux allures de gastéropode géant.

Pour l’imaginaire, le coquillage connecte deux mondes : la coque opaque de l’animal suggère une vie au-delà du regard, le rapport ambigu entre une coque solide, protectrice, exposée, et une masse molle, flexible, vulnérable, intime. Inspirée de la grande famille des Neptunea, le petit habitacle imaginé par les deux artistes dresse ses parois diaphanes dans un élan spiralé aux courbes douces, qui évoquent par analogie d’autres formes,  de la glace à l’italienne aux nuages cycloniques ou aux bras des galaxies. Dans la nature, il n’y a pas d’angles droits.

 

Cette maison coquillage s’inscrit aussi dans le sillage d’architectures non-fonctionnalistes, qui prônent un habitat fluide, qui recrée le lien avec le ventre maternel, la coquille protectrice, le nid. Elle rappelle d’autres architectures-sculptures de constructeurs utopiques tels Pierre Szekely, Jean-Louis Chanéac, Antti Lovag ou Pascal & Claude Haüsermann. Ces derniers, précurseurs de la maison coque, ont conçu les plans de la Maison Unal, qui inspira directement Annette Tison et Talus Taylor pour la demeure des Barbapapa. La maison coquillage doit beaucoup à ces «maisons bulles» aux formes organiques, ce que l’on nomme parfois la Blob architecture.

Posée en équilibre sur le bord d’un plan d’eau, la maison-coquillage semble tout droit sortie de son biotope originel : toutefois, par son échelle surnaturelle, cette apparition opère un basculement propre à l’univers des contes ou de la SF. Logis magique, l’œuvre nous entraîne à la rencontre d’un monde où les normes vacillent  — une maison fantasmatique où le flux de notre sang bat sans doute très différemment quand on y porte l’oreille.

Les artistes

À la fin des années 90, Petra Mrzyk et Jean-François Moriceau se rencontrent aux beaux-arts de Quimper. Ils débutent rapidement leurs jeux graphiques à quatre mains, devenant le duo inséparable que l’on connaît aujourd’hui. Leurs dessins aux traits souples et à l’encre noire plongent le spectateur dans un univers foisonnant, où les corps sont en perpétuelle mutation, où l’humour se teinte d’accents surréalistes. Sur fonds monochromes souvent dénués de décors, ils libèrent des créatures paisibles aux proportions inhabituelles, distordues ou hybridées : des plantes extraordinaires croisent des animaux-satyres, des anatomies fragmentées jouent avec la plasticité de leurs formes, soumises au principe de l’étrangeté. Ils ne négligent aucun support : wall drawings, films d’animation et clips, installations, bijoux, application I- phone… En 2012, les artistes signent leur première œuvre dans l’espace public, Lunar Tree, un grand arbre nu qui devient phosphorescent une fois la nuit tombée.

Réservation pour une nuit (gratuit) sur lesrefuges.bordeaux-metropole.fr

Accès : 55 Boulevard Jacque Chaban Delmas 33520 Bruges

Tram C les Aubiers puis 10 mn à pied ou Liane 15 arrêt Centre de voile
Site accessible uniquement à pied ou en vélo.
Le Refuge est sommaire et ne dispose ni d’eau, ni d’électricité, ni de chauffage
Commodités : toilettes sèches à 100 m
Capacité : 6 personnes (1 couchage collectif)

 

Information and booking (free) on lesrefuges.bordeaux-metropole.fr

 

Le projet des Refuges périurbains est une initiative de Bruit du frigo, menée en collaboration avec Zébra3. Il est accompagné et financé par Bordeaux Métropole, avec la participation des communes hôtes. 

Show More