top of page
Frac Aquitaine wilfrid almendra zébra3 production art contemporain Bordeaux
Frac Aquitaine wilfrid almendra zébra3 production art contemporain Bordeaux
Frac Aquitaine wilfrid almendra zébra3 production art contemporain Bordeaux
Frac Aquitaine wilfrid almendra zébra3 production art contemporain Bordeaux

Wilfrid Almendra - Rock Garden

November 2, 2006 to January 13, 2007 - FRAC Collection Aquitaine

For this first monographic exhibition, Wilfrid Almendra presents a set of sculptures produced since 2001 throughout the FRAC Aquitaine space. Three new works are produced and shown on this occasion.

“When I look west, I feel something endless. »Led Zeppelin

As we speak Wilfrid Almendra tirelessly shapes one of his works. Like Bernard Moitessier gradually giving way, he opens his way, at the mercy of the elements and constrained by his own strength. There are aspects common to these two approaches to accomplishment through a determinate and indefinite act.

With “handcrafted Trow”, a series of mason's trowels reproduced by hand with rudimentary tools, Wilfrid Almendra borrows models and shapes from industrial processes, which he moves to another space. By confronting himself with his own means, by choosing an artisanal way of making, he delimits the perimeter of his action and gradually defines the scale 1 of his sculpture.

The hours spent shaping his pieces with meticulousness, absorb his days which pass in a few minutes, as in an interminable speeding violation. This methodology is at the heart of WA's work, it is decisive and initiates a movement back to the future.

Whether with "handcrafted Trow", "Handcrafted Pickax" a digger's pickaxe, "handmade guitar bodies" electric guitar bodies, or "Skateboard", a skateboard made of marble, Wilfrid Almendra draws on a library of common objects, from universes to which he is sensitive, subjects and forms that he puts to the test of a handmade art. All these referents are inevitably taken from their production chain, emerging from a piece of aluminum, a block of stone or a beech log, they reappear at the cost of considerable effort in a new light. Unlike Bertrand Lavier, who shows a skate mounted on a base, or manufactured objects painted in layers, those of Wilfrid Almendra are taken to heart. They constitute the elements of a language close to still life, to which we will prefer in this case, its Anglo-Saxon name “still life”.

His recent pieces approach this notion more precisely by favoring the association of different objects, shapes, materials and fabrication techniques. Recently presented at the Meymac art center, a large sculpture gives us an example.

It consists of a large snowplow shovel formed from steel plates, balanced on two stylized logs cut from wooden logs, and contains a tide of gravel deposited in the shape of a star exploded on the ground. Its important dimensions transport us rather in a landscape, but each of the elements remains distinct in this tangle. They are also the subject of special treatments, revealing a proximity to the decorative arts. The massive steel shovel is entirely sandblasted by hand, the logs which support it cut with a chainsaw are veined with scissors and pigmented, finally the modeled gravel reveals a series of waves contained in a template with acute angles. Between Waimea and Les Sables d'Olonnes, the alleys of the Jardin des Plantes and the riffs of Monster Magnet, Wilfrid Almendra composes with the universes that fascinate him and those that shape him.

“VLZ310”, a piece presented at the Buy-sellf Gallery in Marseille, in more domestic dimensions. It revolves around a ceramic pineapple fifty centimeters high set in a swimming pool porch supported on a steel wall. The care taken in the composition of this sculpture testifies to a pronounced taste for suburban culture, where from gardens to fences, everyone redoubles their creativity to enhance their environment, the diversity of effects ranging from enamel to gel coat are just as much. of clues.

Wilfrid Almendra's work has progressed, questioning the notion of object in the practice of sculpture through different postures. With “Parallel Bars”, a gymnastic apparatus whose bars make a bend, he diverts an object in the literal and figurative sense; With “ricochet track”, a sports pool intended to throw pebbles, he creates unexpected uses, an endearing and poetic relationship; With "handcrafted Trow", he revisits the standards and processes of manufactured objects, he re-evaluates the shapes

and products from industry. Through his recent sculptures and the exploration of these notions, Wilfrid Almendra unashamedly mixes references to the history of art with popular imagery and gives visitors an opportunity to visit a heritage of the common object, seen under a an angle both poetic and distant, charged with an optimism that our gaze had deprived it of.

Frédéric Latherrade

Curator: Frédéric Latherrade

Exhibition produced in collaboration with Zébra3 / Buy-Sellf

bottom of page

Zébra3

10 quai de Brazza

(Fabrique Pola)

33 100 Bordeaux - France

zebra3@buy-sellf.com

Tel +33 (0) 9 52 18 88 29

  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • YouTube - Black Circle

Wilfrid Almendra - Rock Garden

2 novembre 2006 au 13 janvier 2007 - FRAC Collection Aquitaine

Pour cette première exposition monograghique, Wilfrid Almendra présente un ensemble de sculptures réalisées depuis 2001 dans tout l’espace du FRAC Aquitaine. Trois nouvelles œuvres sont réalisées et montrées à cette occasion.

 

« Lorsque je regarde vers l’ouest, je ressens quelque chose d’infini. » Led Zeppelin

À l’heure où nous parlons Wilfrid Almendra façonne inlassablement une de ses oeuvres. Comme Bernard Moitessier s’abandonnant peu à peu à la dérive, il ouvre sa voie, à la merci des éléments et contraint par ses propres forces. Il y a des aspects communs à ces deux approches de l’accomplissement au tra- vers d’un acte déterminé et indéfini.

Avec « handcrafted Trow », une série de truelles de maçon reproduit à la main avec des outils rudimentaires, Wilfrid Almendra emprunte des modèles et des formes aux process industriels, qu’il déplace dans un autre espace. En se confrontant à ses propres moyens, en choisissant un mode artisanal de confec- tion, il délimite le périmètre de son action et définit au fur et à mesure l’échelle 1 de sa sculpture.

Les heures passées à façonner ses pièces avec minutie, absorbent ses journées qui passent en quelques minutes, comme dans un excès de vitesse interminable. Cette méthodologie est au cœur du travail de W.A, elle est déterminante et initie un mouvement de retour vers le futur.

Que ce soit avec « handcrafted Trow », « Handcrafted Pickax » une pioche de terrassier, « handmade guitar bodies » des corps de guitares électriques, ou « Skateboard », une planche de Skate réalisée en marbre, Wilfrid Almendra puise dans une bibliothèque d’objets communs, issus d’univers auxquels il est sensible, des sujets et des formes qu’il met à l’épreuve d’un art fait main. Tous ces référents sont immanquablement tirés de leur chaîne de production, émergeant d’une pièce d’aluminium, d’un bloc de pierre ou d’une bûche de hêtre, ils réapparaissent au prix d’efforts considérables sous un jour nou- veau. À la différence de Bertrand Lavier, qui donne à voir un skate monté sur socle, ou des objets manufacturés peints par couche, ceux de Wilfrid almendra sont traités à cœur. Ils constituent les éléments d’un langage proche de la nature morte, à laquelle nous préfèrerons dans ce cas, sa dénomination anglo- saxonne « still life ».

Ses pièces récentes approchent plus précisément cette notion en privilégiant l’association de différents objets, formes, matériaux et techniques de con- fection. Dernièrement présentée au centre d’art de Meymac, une grande sculp- ture nous en donne exemple.

Elle se compose d’une grande pelle de chasse-neige formée à partir de plaques d’acier, en équilibre sur deux bûches stylisées taillées dans des billots bois, et contient une marée de gravier déposée en forme d’étoile éclatée au sol. Ses dimensions importantes nous transportent plutôt dans un paysage, mais chacun des éléments reste distinct dans cet enchevêtrement. Ils sont d’ailleurs l’objet de traitements particuliers, révélant une proximité avec les arts décoratifs. La pelle d’acier massive est entièrement sablée à la main, les bûches qui la soutiennent découpées à la tronçonneuse sont veinées aux ciseaux et pigmentées, enfin le gravier modelé fait apparaître une sé- rie de vagues contenues dans un gabarit aux angles aigus. Entre Waimea et les Sables d’Olonnes, les allées du jardin des plantes et les riffs de Monster Magnet, Wilfrid Almendra compose avec les univers qui le fascinent et ceux qui le façonnent.

«VLZ310», une pièce présentée à la Galerie Buy-sellf à Marseille, à des di- mensions plus domestiques. Elle s’articule autour d’un ananas en céramique de cinquante centimètres de haut serti dans un perron de piscine appuyé sur un muret d’acier. Le soin apporté à la composition de cette sculpture témoigne d’un goût prononcé pour la culture pavillonnaire, où de jardins en clôtures, chacun redouble de créativité pour agrémenter son environnement, la diversité des effets allant de l’émail au gel coat en sont autant d’indices.

Le travail de Wilfrid Almendra a cheminé, interrogeant la notion d’objet dans la pratique de la sculpture à travers différentes postures. Avec « Barres Parallèles », un appareil de gymnastique dont les barres font un virage, il détourne un objet au sens propre et figuré ; Avec « piste à ricochet », un bassin sportif destiné à lancer des galets, il crée des usages inattendus, une relation attachante et poétique ; Avec « handcrafted Trow », Il revisite les normes et les process des objets manufacturés, il réévalue les formes

et les produits issus de l’industrie. À travers ses sculptures récentes et l’exploration de ces notions, Wilfrid Almendra mixe sans complexe les réfé- rences à l’histoire de l’art avec l’imagerie populaire et donne à visiter un patrimoine de l’objet commun, vu sous un angle à la fois poétique et distant, chargé d’un optimisme dont notre regard l’avait dépourvu.

Frédéric Latherrade

Commissariat : Frédéric Latherrade

Exposition produite en collaboration avec Zébra3 / Buy-Sellf