top of page

© Gilles Pourtier / Villa Arson Nice

© Gilles Pourtier / Villa Arson Nice

© Gilles Pourtier / Villa Arson Nice

© Gilles Pourtier / Villa Arson Nice

© Gilles Pourtier / Villa Arson Nice

Camille Lavaud - 2016

Zébra3 & Lieu-Commun present

SOUTH SPIRIT

An artistic Road Trip Bordeaux - Toulouse - Nice aboard the "Collector"

on the occasion of RUN, RUN, RUN - The 20 years of La Station at Villa Arson, Nice

from October 2 to December 30, 2016
opening Saturday October 1st at 6 p.m.

Zébra3 created in 1993 in Bordeaux by young artists from the Fine Arts.
La Station, founded in 1996 in Nice by former students of Villa Arson.
Lieu-Commun / ALaPlage started in 1997 in Toulouse, driven by a group of young artists from different art schools.
They began to correspond, first by post, then very quickly by email from the end of the 90s. At the beginning of the 2000s, these were the first collaborations. Since then, this southern axis has materialized several times through exhibitions, exchanges, co-productions, residences, and even weddings!
For its 20th anniversary, La Station invites to the Villa Arson, Zébra3 and Lieu-Commun to propose a project together.
This is how “Le Collectionneur” was born, a super cool motorhome, which despite its purely eighties pedigree is the vehicle for contemporary creation.
This nasturtium, placed on a Toyota pick-up, will link Bordeaux to Nice, passing through Toulouse, Sète, Montpellier and Marseille to collect the works of around thirty artists.
Arrived in Nice "Le Collectionneur", will deploy its display in the square gallery of the Villa Arson, to present the exhibition "SOUTH SPIRIT"! From the roaming to the exhibition, the device reflects in a romanticized way the reality of French "Artist run spaces". Despite their experience and their networks, these unlabeled places remain fragile while taking on the arduous role of supporting artists, whether they are freshly graduated, emerging or confirmed. Productions, residencies, exhibitions follow one another at the frantic pace of the emergency without ever reaching a stable situation. The "SOUTH SPIRIT" exhibition reflects this conquering precariousness!

In and around the "Collector" are presented works that build a strange and bucolic scene. The Toyota camper van, now a work of art, sits in a clearing. Here it is a precarious bivouac, a rallying point for a tribe with strange habits. Here and there, as in an episode of the "X-Files" series, antennas sprout, they look at the sky in anticipation of signals from elsewhere. Our art Romanichels tinker with new tools to discover the shapes of tomorrow. Invention is their daily life and perseverance can be exhausting in the long run. This is why they sometimes move away from their reality to pick up abstract signals that they relay with conviction and poetry. "SOUTH SPIRIT" is the reflection of their activity of "artist run space", an operative exhibition where the curatorial stakes are presented in a playful way, staged in a metaphor of the complex reality of these fragile places with sometimes esoteric functioning for some. . It is precisely this unique and original dimension that we would like to present to you and to preserve a kind of "Spirit" which, if it is not spiritual, is nonetheless metaphysical, a kind of love of art!

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Manuel Pomar

With the works of (non-exhaustive list):
Benjamin Artola, Damien Aspe, BGL, Clédat & Petitpierre, Pierre Clément, Nicolas Daubanes, Jean Denant, Estelle Deschamp, Antoine Dorotte, Rémi Groussin, Cyril Hatt, Hippolythe Hentgen, ÎLEMERFROID, Implémentation, Jérémy Lacombe, Camille Lavaud, Laurent Le Deunff, Nicolas Milhé, Anita Molinéro, Julien Nédélec, Laurent Perbos, Marianne Plo, Manuel Pomar, Guillaume Poulain, Frédéric Pradeau, Sylvie Réno, Béatrice Utrilla, WeAreThePainters, Winshluss ...
and also Alexandra Guillot, Vivien Roubaud, Stéphane Steiner, Cédric Teisseire…

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

USEFUL INFORMATION
Open everyday from 2 p.m. to 6 p.m. (except Tuesday)
Free entrance

VILLA ARSON
20 avenue stephen liégeard
06105 Nice cedex
Phone. +33 (0) 4 92 07 73 73
servicedespublics@villa-arson.org
www.villa-arson.org

www.lieu-commun.com

www.lastation.org

Run, Run, Run - The 20 years of La Station

From October 2 to December 30, 2016 - Villa Arson, Nice

runrunrun

RUN, RUN, RUN, an exhibition around the notion of artist-run space, designed by around twenty European structures and over sixty artists, transforming the Villa Arson into a vast site of creation and experimentation. Project carried out on the occasion of the 20th anniversary of La Station (Nice).


Based in Nice, La Station is an artist-run space, i.e. a production and exhibition space founded and managed by artists (http://www.artist-run-spaces.org/) . These are places which, for the most part, allow artists' studios and exhibition spaces to coexist, but also mediation activities intended for all audiences. They are strongly registered in the local territory, while developing programs of an international dimension. Their scope is as much aesthetic as social.
The Station is now 20 years old. It has seen about forty resident artists, currently twelve, who take care of keeping the structure alive on a daily basis, managing its administration, proposing artistic projects, welcoming the public, ensuring the assemblies, the dismantling ... Everyone, in their own way and on their own scale, has contributed and still contributes to the development of the association. Everyone also has their own vision, their own interpretation of their passage through the structure. The Station is today the sum of these individual and familiar stories. Like most artist-run spaces, it is a plastic structure, deformable and modular, sometimes anarchic, always alive, voluntary, resistant.
For its 20th anniversary, La Station is invited to exhibit at Villa Arson, where most of its residents are trained. So back to basics, but also recognition by the institution of its action during all these years. Faced with the symbolic significance of this invitation, it wished to remain faithful to its founding principles. She thus asked some of her current or past residents to invite other artist-run spaces to participate in this adventure. More than an invitation, artists are offered to work together, to invent collaborations or original production methods. About twenty structures and more than sixty artists are involved in this networking project.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Most of the works will be produced for the exhibition. From the end of summer 2016, the Villa Arson welcomes artists in the form of residencies during which all can work on the realization of their works. They will be able to benefit from individual or technical workshops, transforming the establishment into a vast creative project.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

RUN, RUN, RUN, with an evocative title that embodies the spirit of endurance as much as that of the Velvet Underground (eponymous song written by Lou Reed in 1967), is therefore built as an open and plural exhibition, thought and conceived by artists , complex and experimental, but in any case deliberately determined to reflect the generous and transversal spirit of artist-run spaces. The plurality and diversity of practices in no way prevent “doing together”, the sharing of work and production. It is neither a subjective vision of art, nor an alternative posture, but indeed a pragmatic vision of the world, at least of what it should be.


List of invited structures (in progress): LM (Paris), CAN (Neuchâtel), LIEU COMMUN (Toulouse), CULTURAL ENTERPRISE (Paris), EXPERIMENTAL WORKSHOP (Clans), MACUMBA NIGHT CLUB ÉDITIONS (Paris), SNAP (Lyon), DAC (Dolceacqua), BF15 (Lyon), LE BON ACCUEIL (Rennes), WONDER (Paris), ZEBRA3 (Bordeaux), NUMBER 13 (Brussels), CLOVIS XV (Brussels), TANK ART SPACE (Marseille), RED DISTRICT (Marseille) ), PALAIS DES PARIS (Tokyo), MINDSCAPE UNIVERSE (Berlin, Paris), L'ESPACE D'EN BAS (Paris), FONDATION RENÉ D'AZUR (Nice) ...

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Download the press release

bottom of page

Zébra3

10 quai de Brazza

(Fabrique Pola)

33 100 Bordeaux - France

zebra3@buy-sellf.com

Tel +33 (0) 9 52 18 88 29

  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • YouTube - Black Circle
Zébra3 & Lieu-Commun présentent

SOUTH SPIRIT

Un Road Trip artistique Bordeaux - Toulouse - Nice à bord du "Collectionneur"

à l’occasion de RUN, RUN, RUN - Les 20 ans de La Station à la Villa Arson, Nice

du 2 octobre au 30 décembre 2016
vernissage samedi 1er octobre à 18h

Zébra3 créée en 1993 à Bordeaux par de jeunes artistes issus des Beaux-Arts.
La Station, fondée en 1996 à Nice par d’anciens étudiants de la Villa Arson.
Lieu-Commun / ALaPlage démarre en 1997 à Toulouse, impulsée par un groupe de jeunes artistes issus de différentes écoles d’art.
Ils commencent à correspondre, d’abord par la poste, puis très rapidement par mail dès la fin des années 90. Au début des années 2000, ce sont les premières collaborations. Depuis, cet axe sud s’est plusieurs fois concrétisé aux travers, d’expositions, d’échanges, de co-productions, de résidences, voire même de mariage !
Pour ses 20 ans, La Station invite à la Villa Arson, Zébra3 et Lieu-Commun à proposer un projet ensemble.
C’est ainsi que naît «Le Collectionneur», un camping-car super cool, qui malgré son pédigrée purement eighties est le véhicule de la création contemporaine.
Cette capucine posée sur un pick-up Toyota, va relier Bordeaux à Nice, en passant par Toulouse, Sète, Montpellier et Marseille pour récolter les œuvres d’une trentaine d’artistes.
Arrivé à Nice «Le Collectionneur», déploiera son display dans la Galerie carré de la Villa Arson, pour y présenter l’exposition "SOUTH SPIRIT" ! De l’itinérance à l’exposition, le dispositif reflète de façon romancée la réalité des "Artist run spaces" français. Malgré leur expérience et leurs réseaux, ces lieux sans label restent fragiles tout en endossant le rôle ardu de soutien aux artistes, qu’ils soient fraîchement diplomés, émergents ou confirmés. Productions, résidences, expositions se succèdent au rythme effréné de l’urgence sans jamais atteindre une situation stable. L’exposition "SOUTH SPIRIT" reflète cette précarité conquérante !

Dans et autour du «Collectionneur» sont présentées des œuvres qui construisent une scène étrange et bucolique. Le camping car Toyota, devenu œuvre, trône dans une clairière. Ici c’est un bivouac précaire, lieu de ralliement d’une tribu aux habitudes étranges. Ça et là, comme dans un épisode de la série "X-Files", poussent des antennes, elles regardent le ciel dans l’attente de signaux venus d’ailleurs. Nos romanichels de l’art bricolent de nouveaux outils pour découvrir les formes de demain. L’invention est leur quotidien et la persévérance peut être épuisante à la longue. C’est pour cela que parfois, ils s’éloignent de leur réalité capter des signaux abstraits qu’ils relaient avec conviction et poésie. "SOUTH SPIRIT" est le reflet de leur activité d’"artist run space", exposition opérante où les enjeux curatoriaux se présentent de façon ludique, mis en scène dans une métaphore de la réalité complexe de ces lieux fragiles au fonctionnement parfois ésotérique pour certain. C’est justement cette dimension unique et originale que nous tenons à vous présenter et à préserver une sorte de "Spirit" qui si il n’est pas spirituel n’en est pas moins métaphysique, une sorte d’amour de l’art !

Manuel Pomar

 

Avec les œuvres de (liste non exhaustive) :
Benjamin Artola, Damien Aspe, BGL, Clédat & Petitpierre, Pierre Clément, Nicolas Daubanes, Jean Denant, Estelle Deschamp, Antoine Dorotte, Rémi Groussin, Cyril Hatt, Hippolythe Hentgen, ÎLEMERFROID, Implémentation, Jérémy Lacombe, Camille Lavaud, Laurent Le Deunff, Nicolas Milhé, Anita Molinéro, Julien Nédélec, Laurent Perbos, Marianne Plo, Manuel Pomar, Guillaume Poulain, Frédéric Pradeau, Sylvie Réno, Béatrice Utrilla, WeAreThePainters, Winshluss…
et aussi Alexandra Guillot, Vivien Roubaud, Stéphane Steiner, Cédric Teisseire…

INFORMATIONS PRATIQUES
Ouvert tous les jours de 14h à 18h (sauf le mardi)
Entrée libre

VILLA ARSON
20 avenue stephen liégeard
06105 Nice cedex
tél. +33 (0)4 92 07 73 73
servicedespublics@villa-arson.org
www.villa-arson.org

www.lieu-commun.com

www.lastation.org

Run, Run, Run - Les 20 ans de La Station

Du 2 octobre au 30 décembre 2016 - Villa Arson, Nice

RUN, RUN, RUN, une exposition autour de la notion d'artist-run space, conçue par une vingtaine de structures européennes et plus de soixante artistes, transformant la Villa Arson en vaste chantier de création et d'expérimentation. Projet réalisé à l'occasion des 20 ans de La Station (Nice).


Basée à Nice, La Station est un artist-run space, c’est-à-dire un espace de production et d’exposition fondé et géré par des artistes (http://www.artist-run-spaces.org/). Ce sont des lieux qui, pour la plupart, font coexister des ateliers d’artistes et des espaces d’exposition, mais aussi des activités de médiation destinées à tous les publics. Ils sont fortement inscrits dans le territoire local, tout en développant des programmations de dimension internationale. Leur portée est autant esthétique que sociale.
La Station a aujourd’hui 20 ans. Elle a vu passer une quarantaine d’artistes résidents, douze actuellement, qui s’occupent de faire vivre la structure au quotidien, de gérer son administration, en proposant des projets artistiques, en accueillant les publics, en assurant les montages, les démontages… Chacun, à sa façon et à son échelle, a contribué et contribue encore à l’évolution de l’association. Chacun dispose également de sa propre vision, de sa propre interprétation de son passage dans la structure. La Station est aujourd’hui la somme de ces histoires individuelles et familières. Comme la plupart des artist-run spaces, elle est une structure plastique, déformable et modulable, parfois anarchique, toujours vivante, volontaire, résistante.
Pour ses 20 ans, La Station est invitée à exposer à la Villa Arson, lieu de formation de la plupart de ses résidents. Retour aux sources donc, mais également reconnaissance par l’institution de son action durant toutes ces années. Face à la portée symbolique de cette invitation, elle a souhaité rester fidèle à ses principes fondateurs. Elle a ainsi demandé à certains de ses résidents actuels ou passés d’inviter d’autres artist-run spaces à participer à cette aventure. Plus qu’une invitation, il est proposé aux artistes de travailler ensemble, d’inventer des collaborations ou des modes de production originaux. Une vingtaine de structures et plus de soixante artistes sont concernés par ce projet de maillage.

La plupart des oeuvres vont être produites pour l’exposition. La Villa Arson accueille dès la fin de l’été 2016 les artistes sous la forme de résidences au cours desquelles tous pourront travailler à la réalisation de leurs oeuvres. Ils pourront bénéficier des ateliers individuels ou techniques, transformant l’établissement en vaste chantier de création.

RUN, RUN, RUN, au titre évocateur qui incarne autant l’esprit d’endurance que celui du Velvet Underground (chanson éponyme écrite par Lou Reed en 1967), se construit donc comme une exposition ouverte et plurielle, pensée et conçue par des artistes, complexe et expérimentale, mais quoi qu’il en soit délibérément résolue à refléter l’esprit généreux et transversal des artist-run spaces. La pluralité et la diversité des pratiques n’empêchent en aucun cas le « faire ensemble », le partage du travail et de la production. Ce n’est ni une vision subjective de l’art, ni une posture alternative, mais bel et bien une vison pragmatique du monde, du moins de ce qu’il devrait être.


Liste des structures invitées (en cours) : LM (Paris), CAN (Neuchâtel), LIEU COMMUN (Toulouse), ENTREPRISE CULTURELLE (Paris), ATELIER EXPÉRIMENTAL (Clans), MACUMBA NIGHT CLUB ÉDITIONS (Paris), SNAP (Lyon), D.A.C (Dolceacqua), BF15 (Lyon), LE BON ACCUEIL (Rennes), WONDER (Paris), ZEBRA3 (Bordeaux), NUMÉRO 13 (Bruxelles), CLOVIS XV (Bruxelles), TANK ART SPACE (Marseille), RED DISTRICT (Marseille), PALAIS DES PARIS (Tokyo), MINDSCAPE UNIVERSE (Berlin, Paris), L’ESPACE D’EN BAS (Paris), FONDATION RENÉ D’AZUR (Nice) …

Télécharger le communiqué