top of page
We Are The Painters
We Are The Painters
We Are The Painters
We Are The Painters
We Are The Painters
Exhibition from July 7 to August 28, 2016 - Vitrine 7 place du Parlement, Bordeaux

We Are The Painters - The Resistance of the Guardians of the Museum

We Are The Painters is a duo formed by Nicolas Beaumelle and Aurélien Porte. The artists' production has been running for about ten years now and is characterized by the fact that they jealously guard their trade secret: we do not know who does what. It is in a way as if a third person was at the origin of the creation.
For them, this specificity is natural and constitutive since the beginning of their collective practice. There are therefore two individuals working together who, on the one hand, do not carry out an accounting inventory of their respective ideas and, on the other hand, very early on create alter egos in a personal mythology which experiments with the potentialities of painting. . So much so that these characters are featured in the Paint for ... video series initiated in 2007 in outdoor landscapes. Over the years, We Are The Painters has created a multitude of landscapes, characters and federated around its activity a faithful and productive artistic community (1).

For the window, We Are The Painters offers a panorama made up of overturned chairs and reveals the painted undersides of the seats. There is thus offered to the gaze a multitude of paintings until now confidential (2), a series of landscapes, signatures, portraits of women, caves, from a recurring formal vocabulary that artists work with four hands. , now almost automatically.
Utility objects par excellence, the chairs here come out of the intimacy of the workshop, the heckling of bistros or museum rooms to come and pile up in the foreground. Playing with the codes and major themes of painting, the artists use this furniture as so many dynamic touches of color in the overall composition of the landscape.
Feet in front, they are at the same time signs of revolt and generous gifts, revealing some secrets of painters, like so many easels, clandestine sketches, cropping and setting in abyss.

(1) We Are The Painters is currently working on a film Paint for Ulma addressing the two artists' favorite themes:

folklore and artefacts as tools of creation, the artist and the creative process, landscape and poetry.

A Paula Productions production, in partnership with the Festival Trust (Copenhagen, Denmark), the MACVAL (Vitry-sur-Seine), Tripode (Nantes),

in collaboration with Le Confort Moderne (Poitiers), Kunsthalle Nikolaj (Copenhagen, Denmark), Jérôme Hambers,

and with the support of the National Foundation of Graphic and Plastic Arts.

(2) The thirty or so Baumann chairs presented in the display case come from a performative installation produced for Trust ,

second edition of the Copenhagen Art Festival, contemporary art center Nikolaj Kunsthal,

from August 29 to October 25, 2015 (Sonia Dermience Commission).

bottom of page

Zébra3

10 quai de Brazza

(Fabrique Pola)

33 100 Bordeaux - France

zebra3@buy-sellf.com

Tel +33 (0) 9 52 18 88 29

  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • YouTube - Black Circle
Exposition du 7 juillet au 28 août 2016 - Vitrine 7 place du Parlement, Bordeaux

We Are The Painters - La Résistance des Gardiennes du Musée

 

We Are The Painters est un duo formé par Nicolas Beaumelle et Aurélien Porte. La production des artistes fonctionne depuis maintenant une dizaine d’années et se caractérise par le fait qu’ils gardent jalousement leur secret de fabrication : on ignore qui fait quoi. C’est en quelque sorte comme si une tierce personne était à l’origine de la création.
Pour eux, cette spécificité est naturelle et constitutive depuis le début de leur pratique collective. Il y a donc deux individus travaillant ensemble qui, d’une part, ne procèdent pas à un inventaire comptable de leurs idées respectives et, d’autre part, créent très tôt des alter ego dans une mythologie personnelle qui expérimente les potentialités de la peinture. A tel point que ces personnages se mettent en scène notamment dans la série de vidéos Paint for... initiée dès 2007 dans des paysages en extérieur. Au fil des années, We Are The Painters a créé une multitude de paysages, de personnages et fédéré autour de son activité une communauté artistique fidèle et productive (1).

Pour la vitrine, We Are The Painters propose un panorama composé de chaises renversées et nous révèle les dessous peints des sièges. S’offre ainsi au regard une multitude de tableaux jusqu’à ce jour confidentiels (2), une série de paysages, de signatures, de portraits de femmes, de grottes, issus d’un vocabulaire formel récurrent que les artistes travaillent à quatre mains, de façon désormais presque automatique.
Objets utilitaires par excellence, les chaises sortent ici de l’intimité de l’atelier, du chahut des bistrots ou des salles de musées pour venir s’accumuler au premier plan. Jouant des codes et des grandes thématiques de la peinture, les artistes utilisent ce mobilier comme autant de touches de couleur dynamiques dans la composition globale du paysage.
Pieds devant, elles sont tout à la fois signes de révolte et généreux présents, dévoilant quelques secrets de peintres, comme autant de chevalets, d’esquisses clandestines, de recadrages et de mises en abîme.

 

(1) We Are The Painters travaille actuellement à la réalisation d’un film Paint for Ulma abordant les thèmes de prédilection des deux artistes :

le folklore et les artefacts comme outils de création, l’artiste et le processus créatif, le paysage et la poésie.

Une production Paula Productions, en partenariat avec le Festival Trust (Copenhague, Danemark), le MACVAL (Vitry-sur-Seine), Tripode (Nantes),

en collaboration avec Le Confort Moderne (Poitiers), la Kunsthalle Nikolaj (Copenhague, Danemark), Jérôme Hambers,

et avec le soutien de la Fondation Nationale des Arts Graphiques et Plastiques.

(2) La trentaine de chaises Baumann présentée dans la vitrine est issue d’une installation performative produite à l’occasion de Trust,

deuxième édition du Festival d’Art de Copenhague, centre d’art contemporain Nikolaj Kunsthal,

du 29 août au 25 octobre 2015 (Commissariat Sonia Dermience).