top of page

Police station for a tree # 4

May 17 to June 30, 2013 - Botanical Garden of Bordeaux

Since the start of his career, Mathieu Mercier has been reflecting on the definition of the place of the object, both in the consumer industry and in the field of art. His research results in a permanent questioning of the symbolic and utilitarian functions of objects.

Mathieu Mercier initiated in 2012 an event entitled “Commission for a tree” for which artists, architects and designers are invited to design nesting boxes. This form of free expression is a unique and uninhibited way of diverting this artificial shelter with humor and poetry, aesthetics and lightness.

For this fourth edition, a corpus of nearly 90 nesting boxes is presented jointly at the Botanical Garden of Bordeaux, a green space in the heart of the city, and in the Place du Parlement display case as part of the Crystal Palace artistic dissemination program.

With the nesting boxes of: Boris Achour, Dominique Bailly, Elisabeth Ballet, Virginie Barré, Davide Bertocchi, Hervé Bezet, Clédat & Petitpierre, Claude Closky, Emmanuel Combarel, John Cornu, Luis Da Rocha, Laurence De Leersnyder, Marie Denis, Florence Doléac, Antoine Dorotte, Ludovic Duchâteau, Sammy Engramer, Avelina Fuentes, Sébastien Gouju, Clarence Guéna, Adrien Guillet, Pierre Grangé Pradéraire, Sébastien Gschwind, Aïcha Hamu, Ibai Hernandorena, Armand Jalut, Gabriel Jones & Alice-Anne Brassac, Véronique Joumard, Laurent Le Deunff, Camille Le Houezec, Cécile Le Talec, Philippe Lepeut, Gauthier Leroy, Stéphane Magnin, Dimitri Mallet, Emilie Maltaverne, Sophie Marthy Edward, Matthew McCaslin, Karine Meyffret, Nicolas Mussche, Serge Onnen, François Xavier Orsini, Bertrand Parinet, Bruno Peinado , Laurent Perbos, Renaud Perriches, Candice Pétrillo, Bertrand Planes, Serge Provost, Chloé Quenum, Anne Cécile Ratsimbason, Simon Rippol-Hurier, Jérôme Robbe, Maxime Rossi, Sylvain Rousseau, Bernha rd Rüdiger, Marion Sagon, Loup Sarion, Jeanne Susplugas, Taroop & Glabel, Marc Thébault, Xavier Theunis, Aldéric Trével, Olivier Vadrot, Stéphane Vigny, Jocelyn Villemon, Martin Widmer

bottom of page